All the compulsory seminars in this module have provided me with answers to my career options and possibilities in the future. The seminars certainly opened my mind to how I can use my degree to gain many jobs within the biology field but also how I can transfer my skills across to other job sectors. The guest lectures weren’t that necessary in my opinion I would of much preferred to have had more talks relating to career, research and volunteering options instead of hearing about research that’s already done.

The seminars solidified my decision to not go into the field of research. After hearing the lack of field work options available due to lack of funding this made me think that research isn’t my field as there is too much completion. To finalise my decision there is also less options for mammal field work as this taxon has been researched in abundance and this is the taxa I would have wanted to research into.

The module did help me come up with several different enterprise ideas. The ideas range from school botanical gardens for teaching to bug meals and many more. The dragons den and business plan assessments certainly aided me in finding where the foundation is when starting a new business. This side of the module was certainly beneficial.

After the lectures and workshop on CV writing I was able to construct an improved CV which of course will aid in my career plans in the future. These workshops also aided in teaching me how to network more effectively because you know what they say its not what you know it’s who you know. Sadly, due to not attending as many guest lectures as I would have liked due to illness I was unfortunately not able to initiate any new contacts in my field. Hopefully I will have more opportunities to do so in the future.

The module had many pros and cons which includes:

Pros

  • Compulsory lectures were very informative.
  • They provided the necessary skill making workshops to further our knowledge in the bio-enterprise field.
  • The employment aspect of the series was the most useful as it was information students needed before leaving and would use straight away after university.
final reflection
credit: http://ronedmondson.com/2010/11/every-organization-needs-some-good-bad-ideas.html

Cons

  • The guest lectures weren’t that relevant to my field of study.
  • The dragons den was a rushed workshop which was ungraded with lack of feedback.
  • The feedback on the CV assignment wasn’t that useful.

Altogether the module has some great aspects but certainly needs some tweaking, but it did aid me in parts for my future career plan.

Leave a comment